Hunting season

Soundtrack: God Is An Astronaut - Helios | Erebus

 

- You may go if you wish.

She says it in such a casual tone despite she knows it blows his mind off.

- If you want me to leave just say it without trying to push me to meet the decision you want me to.

- No, I mean you've been stuck here for five days already. I just don't want you to bury yourself here with no sun and in a fair company.

Despite it was dark he could swear he saw her ironic smile, a bit asymmetric showing one snow-white fang. No light needed to see it, he knows it all by heart.

- Fair company is the best I can count on, - he said and with the inner vision saw a broad smile of hers. -But yeah, I guess when it's dark I gotta go to the village and bring us some food.

- You can get caught! I'll find smth. for us ion the forest.

- No way I let you go there in the height of hunting season. And who catches me?

- People.

- Come on, comparing to us they're deaf and blind.

- Other dogs...

- You think they're that stupid? They could smell you for miles, so everyone knew right away where I've been.

- And... Do they understand?

- They don't, but they admit there are things beyond their understanding. That's the other difference between dogs and people. With me you're safe, but when people are around... They can't disobey, you understand?

- I do... And... Ehm...

- You want to know whether I did the same and killed other foxes?

- Yes...

- I did.

- Alright.

- But you are safe with me.

- I know.

Write a comment

Comments: 0